The Ribeira Sacra region is an appellation of origin founded in 1997. The vineyards are popular with the people, these vineyards are located in the provinces of Lugo and Ourense with the same name in Galicia. It is divided into five zones: Amandi, Chantada, Quiroga-Bibei, Ribeiras do Miño and Ribeiras do Sil. The three basic tasks of the Ribeira Sacra Regulatory Council are: ensuring the origin of the product, ensuring its quality and promoting the wine made with a designation of origin (D.O.). The varieties used in its production are White: Albariño, Luela, Teresadura, Godello and Dona Blanca. Black: garnacha, tintorera and mouratón. In 2005, 99 wineries were registered for production, with a total of 1,242 hectares of vineyards, with a yield of 4,698,000 kilograms of grapes, of which 4,461,532 kilograms are Mencia grape varieties, and the rest of the varieties are destined Merenza, Blancelao, Susson and Caracas Neo Red and San Pranello are the first options and are authorized as Muratón and Ganaca Tintorella and White Godro, Luela, Teresadura, Dona Blanca, Albari Neo and Torrent. The volume of wine produced is approximately 45,000 hectoliters red and 5,000 white. The river environment provides a microclimate for the Ribeira Sacra, the steep slopes to the south favor the ripening of the grapes, since the grape requires a refined wine, which in Roman times was described as liquid gold from the Sil.